By Randy Parks
Burns Times-Herald
The Burns wrestling team celebrates their district championship. (Photo by TINY PEDERSEN)

The Burns wrestling team crowned seven individual champions and pulled away from the rest of the field to win the Special District No. 4 Wrestling Tournament held Feb. 19-20 at Vale High School.

The Hilanders won the team title with 341 points, followed by Nyssa with 283.5, Riverside 127, Vale 104.5 and Grant Union 94.

Along with the seven first-place finishers, the Hilanders also had six second-places and two thirds to qualify a total of 15 wrestlers for the 3A state tournament to be held Feb. 26-27 at Memorial Coliseum in Portland.

Burns will be trying to win an unprecedented ninth straight title at this year’s state tournament.

The Burns wrestlers who won their individual weight classes included Brennan Bailey at 119 pounds, Dallas Root at 125, Cody Bennett at 130, Brendan Palmer at 140, AJ Swartzlender at 160, Kenny Withee at 189 and George Swartzlender at 285.
Second-place finishes went to Jay Cate at 112 pounds, Chance Peasley at 135, Jay Masterson at 140, Raymond Wright at 160, Jake Swindlehurst at 171 and Landon Hanner at 215.

Placing third were Jake White at 152 and Tyler Foster at 160.

In addition to the state placers, fourth-place finishes went to the Hilanders’ Parker Paramore at 112 pounds, Victor Kegley at 130, Beau Blackburn at 145 and Jake Yaryen at 152. Earning fifth were Max Hill at 125, DJ Foster at 130 and Nathan Young at 135.
Top four in each weight class are as follows:

1-Levi Gagnon GU
2-Gustavo Madrigal Riv
3-Omar DelaCerda Nys
4-Tyler Flint Val
1-Rocky Garcia Nys
2-Jay Cate Bur
3-Tyler Wentz Nys
4-Parker Paramore Bur
1-Brennan Bailey Bur
2-Michael Urrutia Nys
3-Dallin Widmer Nys
4-Julio Mendez Nys
1-Dallas Root Bur
2-Kaleb Elizondo Nys
3-Martin Herrera Riv
4-Gabe Olvera Nys
1-Cody Bennett Bur
2-Dallon Hevner Val
3-Eric Magallanes Riv
4-Victor Kegley Bur
1-Robert Deleon Nys
2-Chance Peasley Bur
3-Alex Kygar GU
4-Seth Cleaver Nys
1-Brendan Palmer Bur
2-Jay Masterson Bur
3-Nick Contreras Nys
4-Adam Barry GU
1-Austin Tolman Val
2-Alex Cisneros Nys
3-Alejandro Conchas Nys
4-Beau Blackburn Bur
1-Briton Hansen Riv
2-Brian Moore Nys
3-Jake White Bur
4-Jake Yaryen Bur
1-AJ Swartzlender Bur
2-Raymond Wright Bur
3-Tyler Foster Bur
4-Ray Ortega Nys
1-Brigham Hansen Riv
2-Jake Swindlehurst Bur
3-Colin Peterson Nys
4-Francisco Garcia Riv
1-Kenny Withee Bur
2-Hector Dominguez Riv
3-Sabastian Sanchez Nys
4-Craig Strawn Val
1-Ethan Kowing GU
2-Landon Hanner Bur
3-Zack Stegman GU
1-George Swartzlender Bur
2-Travis Hickman Nys
3-Derreck Rodriguez Val
4-Jake Batease GU

By Debbie Raney
Burns Times-Herald
Crane�s Wyatt Clark (left) and Thomas O�Toole squared off for the 103 pound championship. (Photo by DEBBIE TITUS)

It wasn’t even a close race as to what team took the championship at the District 4 wrestling tournament last week. After all of the brackets had been completed, the Crane Mustangs were over 120 points ahead of their nearest competition. Crane scored 334.5 for the team championship, with the Enterprise/Wallowa team placing second with 211 points.

Considering that Crane ended the tournament with seven individual champions,  four second places, three third-place finishes and two fourths, it’s not hard to imagine how the team came up with so many points. Earning the gold medal in their respective weight classes were Wyatt Clark, 103; Mitch Willson, 112; Lewis Whiting, 130; Zach Cody, 135; Greg Thompson, 140; Josh Williams, 145; and Kenny Haworth, 152.

Picking up second places for the Mustangs were Thomas O’Toole, 103; Elizabeth Davis, 112; Gus Titus, 125; and Tanner Titus, 140.
Third places were won by Dan O’Crowley, 135; Justin Davis, 160; and Donald McDermond, 285.

Rounding out the Mustang placings with fourth places were Sam Stone, 145, and Cash Casey, 160.

Team scores
334.5 Crane (CR)
211.0 Enterprise/Wallowa (EW)
176.5 Pine Eagle (PE)
137.0 Heppner (HE)
84.0 Imbler (IM)
74.0 Adrian (AD)
50.0 Elgin (EL)
27.0 Joseph (JO)
14.0 Union (UN)
0 Huntington (HU)

1-Wyatt Clark CR
2-Thomas O’Toole CR
3-Austin Reimer EW
4-Austin Harris HE
1-Mitch Wilson CR
2-Elizabeth Davis CR
3-Josh Higginbothum EW
4-Jacob Blaylock EL
1-AJ Plummer IM
2-Devin Thorn PE
3-John Green EW
4-Salvador Mendez EW
1-Brock Hayes EW
2-Gus Titus CR
3-Jarried Miller HE
4-Forrest Cox EW
1-Lewis Whiting CR
2-Cody Nelson HE
3-Jake Wilde AD
4-Chaeden Luebberke PE
1-Zach Cody CR
2-Mark Ishida AD
3-Dan O’Crowley CR
4-Jessy Lawrence PE
1-Greg Thompson CR
2-Tanner Titus CR
3-Ethan Osterloh EW
4-Sawyer Wick EW
1-Josh Williams CR
2-Cody Powell PE
3-Tyler Robinson HE
4-Sam Stone CR
1-Kenny Haworth CR
2-Chance Day HE
3-Jake Nicholls EW
4-Kipp Miller PE
1-Kyle Dennis PE
2-Daniel Lode AD
3-Justin Davis CR
4-Cash Casey CR
1-Richie Gonzales PE
2-Wacy Coil HE
3-Erich Roepke EW
4-Jordan Widener EW
1-Jake Schaeffer EW
2-Alex Courtney EW
3-James Prechtl AD
4-Joe Reynolds EW
1-Lucas Powell PE
2-Logan Crouch EL
3-Rowdy Graves IM
4-Will Cannon JO
1-Daniel Minarich PE
2-Cameron Princena EW
3-Donald McDermond CR
4-Henry Kanoho IM

Comments are closed.

Whaddya Think?

Which is your favorite Sunday afternoon activity?
  • Watching football (35%)
  • Taking a walk/drive (20%)
  • Napping (18%)
  • Reading (14%)
  • Baking (9%)
  • Playing family games (4%)

85 total vote(s)

Loading ... Loading ...

Destination Harney County

Destination Harney County 2012


Litehouse Technology

Litehouse Logo

Ruthie's In His Image Photography

Ruthies In His Image Photography


Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Pinterest

Your Advertisement Here!