Vale wins team title with 3-0 record

The Hilanders’ Brennan Bailey takes his opponent’s shoulders to the mat. (Photo by RANDY PARKS)

By Randy Parks
Burns Times-Herald

The Burns and Crane wrestling teams got their seasons under way by competing in the Woodfin-Robinson Memorial Dual Match Tournament at Burns High School on Friday, Dec. 2.

The Vale Vikings won the tournament by beating Burns 48-36 in the final dual between the two unbeatens.

“It was lot of fun,” Burns coach Mark Hofman said. “We’ve got some kids out there who have never wrestled before, and they’re only going to get better.”

Crane was a bit undermanned for the tournament because of injuries and the football team’s deep run into the state playoffs.

In the opening duals, Burns topped Lakeview 39-25, and Vale downed Crane 63-18.

In the second round, Burns beat Crane 60-24, and Vale defeated Lakeview 60-21.

In the final round, Lakeview beat Crane 51-18, and the Vikings came back from a 30-6 deficit to knock off Burns and take the first-place trophy.

Results for Burns and Crane are as follows:

Burns vs. Lakeview
120 — Connor Lysne (L) won by 5-3 decision over Thomas Cain (B)
126 — Zach Nelsen (B) won by forfeit
132 — Double forfeit
138 — Victor Kegley (B) won by forfeit
145 — Brennan Bailey won by fall over Tony Mungarro (L) 2:55
152 — Seth Nonnenmacher (B) won by fall over Dalton Alexander (L) 1:22
160 — Jay Lysne (L) won by 15-3 major decision over Matson Gahley (B)
170 — Jake White (B) won by fall over Aaron Hargis (L) 1:08
182 — Wyatt Duncan (B) won by 8-2 decision over Neil Sutfin (L)
195 — Scott Lovelady (B)  won by fall over Mike Cuff (L) :30
220 — Shane Newman (L) won by fall over Jordan Daugherty (B) :45
285 — Dylan Amerson (L) won by fall over Austin Piper (B) :46
106 — Double forfeit
113 — Matt Crandall (L) won by forfeit

Crane vs. Vale
120 — Austin Roath (C) won by forfeit
126 — Lane Cummings (V) won by 15-10 decision over Corey Jenkins (C)
132 — Wyatt Clark (C) won by fall over Juan Espinoza (V) 3:39
138 — Logan Boyle (V) won by forfeit
145 — Gabe Galicia (V) won by forfeit
152 — Ty Holloway (V) won by forfeit
160 — Daniel Estrada (V) won by fall over Tevi Silva (C) 1:44
170 — Danny Pozzi (V) won by forfeit
182 — Austin Tolman (V) won by forfeit
195 — Cody Wilcox (V) won by forfeit
220 — Caleb Van Amerige (V) won by fall over Brent Pierzina (C) :23
285 — Donald McDermond (C) won by fall over Kye Yraguen :16
106 — Kevin Munoz (V) won by fall over Jake Clark (C)
113 — Tyler Flint (V) won by forfeit

Burns vs. Crane
126 — Nelsen (B) won by forfeit
132 — Jenkins (C) won by forfeit
138 — Kegley (B) won by fall over W. Clark (C) 1:28
145 — Bailey (B) won by forfeit
152 — Nonnenmacher (B) won by forfeit
160 — Gahley (B) won by fall over Silva (C) :22
170 — Austin Ryder (B) won forfeit
182 — Lovelady (B) won by forfeit
195 — Double forfeit
220 — Daugherty (B) won by fall over Pierzina (C) 2:46
285 — McDermond (C) won by fall over Piper (B) 1:03
106 — Jake Clark (C) won by forfeit
113 — Double forfeit
120 — Cain (B) won by fall :26

Crane vs. Lakeview
132 — Jenkins (C) won by forfeit
138 — W. Clark (C) won by forfeit
145 — Mungarro (L) won by forfeit
152 — Alexander (L) won by forfeit
160 — Nathan Harlen (L) won by fall over Silva (C)
170 — Lysne (L) won by forfeit
182 — Hargis (L) won by forfeit
195 — Cuff (L) won by forfeit
220 — Newman (L) won by fall over Pierzina (C)
285 — McDermond (C) won by fall over Amerson (L)
106 — Double forfeit
113 — Crandall (L) won by 7-6 decision over J. Clark (C)
120 — Lysne (L) won by fall over Roath (C)
126 — Double forfeit

Burns vs. Vale
132 — Espinoza (V) won by fall over Nelsen (B) 1:19
138 — Kegley (B) won by fall over Boyle (V) 1:15
145 — Bailey (B) won by fall over Galicia (V) :40
152 — Nonnemacher (B) won by fall over Holloway (V) 5:03
160 — Gahley (B) won by fall over Estrada (V) 1:11
170 — White (B) won by fall over Pozzi (V) 2:16
182 — Tolman (V) won by fall over Duncan (B) 1:05
195 — Wilcox (V) won by fall over Lovelady (B) 5:07
220 — Van Amerige (V) won by fall over Daugherty (B) 1:00
285 — Yraguen (V) won by fall over Piper (B) 1:21
106 — Munoz (V) won by forfeit
113 — Flint (V) won by forfeit
120 — Tyson Nelsen (B) won by forfeit
126 — Cummings (V) won by fall over Cain (B) 2:36

On Saturday, Dec. 3, the Hilander wrestlers competed in the COWO Invitational at Summit High School in Bend.

Bailey was the lone individual champion for Burns as he took the title at 145 pounds. Second place finishes went to Nonnenmacher at 152, Gahley at 160 and White at 170, and third places went to Duncan at 182 and Piper at 285.

Next up for the Hilanders is the Muilenberg Tournament in La Grande Friday and Saturday, Dec. 9-10.

Comments are closed.

Whaddya Think?

Where would you like to go shopping for Christmas gifts?

Loading ... Loading ...

Destination Harney County

Destination Harney County 2012


Litehouse Technology

Litehouse Logo

Ruthie's In His Image Photography

Ruthies In His Image Photography


Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Pinterest

Your Advertisement Here!