Ryan Opie of Crane was named Player of the Year.

By Debbie Raney and Randy Parks
Burns Times-Herald

After helping his team qualify for the 1A OSAA state semi-finals football playoffs, Ryan Opie of Crane was named the Special District 6 player of the year.

Opie was selected for his contribution to the Mustang team as a quarterback, defensive back and kick returner, earning first-team honors for all three.

The Mustangs also had six other players named to the district first team. Cash Casey earned selection as an offensive guard and a defensive lineman, Tyler Opie was chosen for first team as a receiver and a defensive end, Nic Nyman was named to the first team for his play as an offensive guard and defensive end, Cole Maupin was selected as a running back, Wilson Witzel was picked as a first-team linebacker and Levi Miller was chosen as a receiver.

Four Crane athletes were also picked for second-team district honors. Greg Thompson was named as a running back, Maupin as a linebacker, Miller as defensive back and Nyman as kicker.

Honorable mention went to Donald McDermond as a center and Thompson as linebacker.

The Eastern Oregon League (EOL) announced their All-League football teams, and several Hilanders received recognition for their performance on the field this past fall.

The all-league first-team offense included linemen Tyler Cooper and Austin Piper, and wide receiver Casey Heinz.

Tight end Dylan Stanwyck and runnng back Matson Gahley were both named to the second-team offense.

Receiving honorable mention were lineman Scott Lovelady and quarterback Seth Nonnenmacher.

On the defensive side, three Hilanders were named to the first team including Heinz as defensive back, Cooper as linebacker and Stanwyck as a lineman.

Named to the second team were lineman Piper and linebacker Beau Blackburn.

Tanner Crafts received honorable mention as a defensive back.

Cooper was also named first-team punter.

Lee Long of Nyssa was named the EOL Coach of the Year and Heinz received Co-Player of the Year honors.

Five members of the Crane Union High School Mustang volleyball team were named to the High Desert League all-league teams.

Junior Hannah Steeves was selected as the league’s setter of the year.

First-team honors went to Paige Landon, with Morgan Corrigan and Cassidy Corrigan being selected for the league second team.

Rebekah Clark was chosen as an honorable mention.

Athletes who participated in fall sports at Crane Union High School were honored by their coaches and fans last week.

Special awards and varsity and JV letters were presented to the students who competed in football, volleyball, soccer and rodeo.

Varsity letters
Dan O’Crowley and Jacob Rothgeb.

Varsity letters
Jesse Northrop, Jesse Loper, Ryan Opie, Royal Henricks, Tyler Opie, Quinton Nyman, Hannah Buermann, Riley Joyce, Cash Casey, Paige Landon, Alycia Jenkins, Cody Lamb and Kenny Haworth.

Special awards
Most valuable: Team
Most improved: Team
Most inspirational: Katrina Valentine

Varsity letters
Tanya Williams, Morgan Corrigan, Shayla Lundy, Cassidy Corrigan, Rebekah Clark, Paige Landon, Hannah Steeves, Rebekah Titus, Emma Robertson, Kathleen Dickenson, Glennie Milburn and Katrina Valentine.
JV letters
Jaime Crume, Amanda Casey, Maria Thompson, Glory Schulze and Alix Culp.

Special awards
Most valuable: Team
Most improved: Cash Casey and Tanner Titus
Most inspirational: Quinton Nyman

Varsity letters
Levi Miller, Cole Maupin, Nic Nyman, Ryan Opie, Thomas O’Toole, Tanner Titus, Tyler Opie, Greg Thompson, Wilson Witzel, Riley Joyce, Zach Cody, Donald McDermond, Quinton Nyman, Cody Lamb, Cash Casey, Blaise Schulze and Michael Casey.
JV letters
Nick Witzel, Jeff Davies, Clay Duckworth, Cody Berrett, Andy Lamborn, Andy Casey, Brent Pierzina, Austin Roath, Peter Neuschwander, Corbin Hammond, Travis Landon, Corey Jenkins and Tim Thomas.

The Burns football, volleyball and cheerleading teams celebrated another successful fall sports season with their end-of-season awards ceremony on Monday, Dec. 5, at Burns High School.

Student-athletes were recognized for their achievements during the season and special awards were presented.

For the cheerleading squad, Michelle Ebar received the Captain’s Award, Courtney Carlon was named the Most Spirited, Caitie Newkirk was presented with the Safety Award, Erica Fritts received the Best Attitude award, Takara Jacobsen was named Most Improved and Ashtyn Gunderson was named Most Versatile.

The special award winners on the football team included:

Most Improved: Co-winners Tanner Crafts and Alex Theall
Outstanding Defensive Lineman: Dylan Stanwyck

Outstanding Linebacker: Tyler Cooper

Outstanding Defensive Back: Casey Heinz

Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Austin Piper
Outstanding Receiver: Casey Heinz
Outstanding Offensive back: Matson Gahley
Most Valuable: The entire Hilander team

The special award winners for the volleyball team, as voted on by players, are as follows:
Most Improved: Megan Lee
Most Inspirational: Maggie Thompson
Most Valuable: Co-winners Maddye Dinsmore and Abbey Fenton.

The Burns/Crane soccer team held their season-end awards ceremony on Monday, Dec. 12, at Glory Days.
Head coach Jodi McLean introduced the players and presented letters and special awards.

Earning their letters this year were Bea Ribeiro, Miranda Carpenter, Jacob Nelson, Kortney Fritts, Bailey Johnston, Kallie McLean, Payden Paramore, Anna Reid, Dallin Johnson, Jacob Rothgeb, Dan O’Crowley, Kinnon Roy and manager Hannah Rowher.

Special award winners (voted on by the team) are as follows:
Best Underclassman: Miranda Carpenter
Most Improved: Jacob Nelson
Most Heart: Dallin Johnson
Most Inspirational: Dan O’Crowley
Most Valuable: Kinnon Roy

Comments are closed.

Whaddya Think?

Which is your favorite Sunday afternoon activity?
  • Watching football (35%)
  • Taking a walk/drive (20%)
  • Napping (18%)
  • Reading (14%)
  • Baking (9%)
  • Playing family games (4%)

85 total vote(s)

Loading ... Loading ...

Destination Harney County

Destination Harney County 2012


Litehouse Technology

Litehouse Logo

Ruthie's In His Image Photography

Ruthies In His Image Photography


Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Pinterest

Your Advertisement Here!