Burns, Crane wrestlers on to state

Posted on February 20th in Sports

Trailing 10-6, Dustin Ramge of Crane pinned his opponent to win the 106-pound weight class. (Photo by RANDY PARKS)

1A and 3A state in Portland Feb. 22-23

By Randy Parks
Burns Times-Herald

The Crane Mustangs had five individual champions and racked up 245 points on their way to winning the team title at the 12-team 2A/1A District 4 tournament on Saturday, Feb. 16, at Crane Union High School.

The five champions, plus four runner-ups, qualified for the OSAA 2A/1A State Wrestling Tournament to be held in Portland Feb. 22-23.

Taking home gold medals for Crane were Dustin Ramge (106), Jake Clark (113), Andy Lamborn (120), Wyatt Clark (138) and Michael Casey (285).

W. Clark was also named the tournament’s Outstanding Wrestler.

Second-place finishes went to Austin Roath (126), Corey Jenkins (132), Justin Baldwin (170) and Clay Duckworth (182).

Hunter Davis (182) finished third, Joe Davis (170) and Amadeo Jones (120) placed fourth, and Tim Thomas (160) came in sixth.

Imbler placed second in the team standings with 157 points, followed by Heppner 156, Grant Union 100.5, Enterprise 92, Joseph 71, Irrigon 63, Union 55, Pine Eagle 46, Elgin 39, Adrian 15 and Wallowa 13.

Individual results for Crane are as follows:
106 — Ramge won by maj. dec. 8-0; won by fall (4:40).
113 — J. Clark won by fall (4:46); won by fall (1:40).
120 — Lamborn won by fall (1:27); won by fall (1:54); won by dec. 3-2.
120 — Jones lost by fall (1:37); won by fall (1:44); lost by dec. 19-13.
126 — Roath won by fall (5:43); lost by dec. 9-7 OT.
132 — Jenkins won by fall (:51); won by dec. 7-1; lost by maj. dec. 15-7.
132 — Colton Witzel lost by fall (1:02); lost by fall (1:00).
138 — W. Clark won by fall (2:59); won by fall (3:28) won by fall (2:37).
160 — Thomas won by dec. 9-6; lost by fall (1:13); lost by fall (:27); lost by fall (1:35).
170 — Baldwin won by fall (2:48); won by fall (1:25); lost by dec. 9-2.
170 — J. Davis lost by fall (2:54); won by fall (1:48); won by fall (1:22); lost by fall (4:15).
182 — Duckworth won by fall (:39); won by fall (2:59); lost by dec. 6-0.
182 — H. Davis won by fall (:16); lost by maj. dec. 10-0; won by fall (:26); won by fall (:59).
285 — Casey won by fall (1:52); won by fall (2:36).

The Burns Hilanders will send 10 wrestlers on to the OSAA 3A State Wrestling Tournament in Portland Feb. 22-23.

Burns placed fourth as a team with 177 points at the Special District 4 Tournament in Boardman on Saturday, Feb. 16.

Vale won the tournament with 269.5 points, Nyssa was second with 215 and Riverside third with 195.

The top three finishers in each weight class advance on to the state tournament, and Burns had three individual champions, three second-place finishes and four wrestlers place third.

The Hilanders’ Brennan Bailey won the 152-pound weight class, Seth Nonnenmacher took first at 160 and Matson Gahley was the 170-pound champion.

Finishing in second place were Tyson Nelsen (132), Peter Cain (145) and Jake White (182).

Third-place finishes went to Thomas Cain (126), Beau Blackburn (160), Scott Lovelady (182) and Jordan Daugherty (220).

Garrett Blackburn (152) and Austin Ryder (195) placed fourth, and Jack Van Tassel (126) and Zach Nelsen (138) came in sixth.

Comments are closed.

Whaddya Think?

Where would you like to go shopping for Christmas gifts?

Loading ... Loading ...

Destination Harney County

Destination Harney County 2012


Litehouse Technology

Litehouse Logo

Ruthie's In His Image Photography

Ruthies In His Image Photography


Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Pinterest

Your Advertisement Here!