by Randy Parks
Burns Times-Herald

Girls basketball special award winners (L-R): Glennie Milburn, Paige Landon, Morgan Corrigan, Chelsea Thomas.

Crane’s basketball, wrestling and dance teams were honored at the winter sports awards ceremony Wednesday, March 20.

Crane Athletic Director Chuck Steeves welcomed everyone and presented High Desert League scholar-athlete awards to deserving students. To earn the award, a student must have maintained at least a 3.75 grade point average. Receiving scholar-athlete awards were Andy Casey, Jacob Rothgeb, Erik Davies, Corbin Hammond, Andy Lamborn, Thomas O’Toole, Mary Dorroh, Bekah Titus, Elizabeth Davis, Morgan Corrigan, Rebekah Clark, Paige Landon and Hannah Steeves.

Girls head basketball coach Stub Travis introduced this past season’s team and presented the High Desert League (HDL) and team awards.


Wrestling award winners (L-R): Andy Lamborn, Clay Duckworth, Wyatt Clark.

Named to the HDL All-League first team were Corrigan, Landon and Hannah Maupin. Steeves was selected to the second team and Glennie Milburn and Clark received Honorable Mention.

Travis announced the team’s scoring leader for the season was Maupin, and the top rebounder was Clark.
Milburn and Chelsea Thomas received the Most Improved award. Corrigan was named Most Inspirational, and the Most Outstanding award went to Landon.

Head wrestling coach Dave Doman recognized his team and presented the special awards. The Most Improved award was given to Clay Duckworth. Lamborn took home the Most Inspirational award, and Wyatt Clark was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler.

Dance team award winner Chrissy Moon.


Dance team coach Debbie Titus introduced the dance team and presented the Coach’s Award to Chrissy Moon.

Boys basketball head coach Mick Miller finished off the festivities by recognizing the players and accomplishments of this year’s team, and presenting the HDL All-League and special awards.
Nic Nyman and Tyler Opie both were named to the HDL All-League first team. Zalin Arritola and Travis Landon were selected to the second team, and Joe Valentine received Honorable Mention.

The Most Improved award went to Landon, and Quinton Nyman was named Most Inspirational. Miller then announced that the entire team would receive the Most Outstanding award for coming back after a 2-6 start to finish in the top eight of all 1A teams in the state.

Boys basketball special award winners (L-R): Travis Landon and Quinton Nyman.

Comments are closed.

Whaddya Think?

Which is your favorite Sunday afternoon activity?
  • Watching football (35%)
  • Taking a walk/drive (20%)
  • Napping (18%)
  • Reading (14%)
  • Baking (9%)
  • Playing family games (4%)

85 total vote(s)

Loading ... Loading ...

Destination Harney County

Destination Harney County 2012


Litehouse Technology

Litehouse Logo

Ruthie's In His Image Photography

Ruthies In His Image Photography


Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Pinterest

Your Advertisement Here!